Commencement 2017 speakers will be listed as they become available.

Below are the 2016 speakers:

Abby Davis 2016 Valedictorian

Abby Davis, Valedictorian

Abby Davis, a political science major from Avon Lake, Ohio, has been named valedictorian of the 2016 University of Notre Dame graduating class and will present the valedictory address during the 171st University Commencement Ceremony on May 15 (Sunday) at Notre Dame Stadium.

2016 Laetare winners

Joe Biden and John BoehnerLaetare Medal

In recognition of their leadership, civility and dedication to our nation, the University of Notre Dame will present two Catholic officials from opposing political parties — Vice President Joe Biden and former Speaker of the House John Boehner — with its 2016 Laetare Medal, the oldest and most prestigious honor accorded to American Catholics. The award will be presented during the University Commencement Ceremony on May 15.

General Martin Dempsey

General Martin E. Dempsey, Commencement Speaker

Recently retired U.S. Army General Martin E. Dempsey, chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff for the past four years, will be the principal speaker and receive an honorary degree at the University of Notre Dame’s 171st University Commencement Ceremony on Sunday, May 15.

For a listing of previous commencement speakers, please visit the Archives page.