Laetare Medal


Notre Dame’s Laetare Medal is presented annually to an American Catholic in recognition of outstanding service to the Church and society. It is considered the oldest and most prestigious award for American Catholics.

The University did not award the Laetare Medal for 2009. Judge John T. Noonan Jr., the 1984 recipient of the Laetare Medal, reflected on the spirit of the Laetare during the May, 2009 University Commencement Ceremony.

2015 Aaron Neville Acceptance Speech
2014 Kenneth R. Miller Acceptance Speech
2013 Sister Susanne Gallagher, S.P.; Sister Mary Therese Harrington, S.H.; and Rev. James H. McCarthy Acceptance Speech
2012 Ken Hackett Acceptance Speech
2011 Sister Mary Scullion, R.S.M., and Joan McConnon Acceptance Speech
2010 Dana Gioia Acceptance Speech
2008 Martin Sheen Acceptance Speech
2007 Patrick Francis McCartan  
2006 Dave Brubeck Acceptance Speech
2005 Joseph Edward Murray  
2004 Reverend J. Bryan Hehir  
2003 Peter and Margaret OBrien Steinfels  
2002 Reverend John Philip Smyth  
2001 Monsignor George Gilmary Higgins  
2000 Andrew James McKenna  
1999 John Philip Gleason